Skip to content

India bans entry for passengers from EU, Turkey and UK from 18th March

india travel ban uk

The government of India today further extended its ban on arrival of international passengers and said that it might not provide entry to even to the Indian passport holders residing within the UK, Turkey, and the whole of EU till the end of March.

The aviation regulator Directorate General of Civil Aviation (DGCA) on Tuesday said, “Travel of passengers from member countries of the EU, the ECU trade association, Turkey and UK to India is prohibited with effect from March 18, 2020. No airline shall board passengers from these nations to India with effect from 1200 GMT on March 18, 2020. The airline shall enforce this at the port of the initial departure. Both these instructions are temporary measures and shall be effective till March 31, 2020, and can be reviewed subsequently,”.

While the European Union consists of 27 countries spread across Europe, the European trade association constitutes four members that Switzerland, Norway, Liechtenstein, and Iceland.

This ban follows a recent ban on entry of foreign passport holders and Overseas Indian Citizen (OCI) cardholders into the country starting Friday last week.

However, Indian passport holders were allowed to enter India.

This ban is about to impact flight operations of the various airlines.
Even before the Indian government announced its decision to shut the country from Friday and therefore the current ban, several foreign and international carriers had canceled over 500 flights to and from India.

The total number of confirmed cases in India till 16th March rose to 116.